My Etrog

At the synagogue, we usually bring in about 50 etrogim between those congregants have ordered and those that we buy for the synagogue and the religious school. Most years, I am in the office when the etrogim arrive and often can open a few boxes looking for an extra special one.

This year, the first box I opened contained a surprise. Here it isimg_1814

I fell in love with this etrog. I have never seen one like it. It looked so different and- quite frankly- it looked like it needed  a good home. As I said the bracha over the lulav and etrog, used it for hallel and for the hoshanot over the past two days, I really developed a real attachment to this rather unique looking fruit.

I can’t help but draw a comparison and I hope no one is offended. I mean it with great respect.

It reminded me of Charlie Brown’s Christmas Tree

dt-common-streams-streamserverThe etrog needed me.

To my eyes, it is as the Torah says: the fruit of a beautiful tree.

May we continue to enjoy a beautiful holiday of Sukkot.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment